Standard Carrier Alpha Code – SCAC

What is SCAC? 
The Standard Carrier Alpha Code (SCAC) is a unique two-to-four-letter code used to identify transportation companies.

The Standard Carrier Alpha Code is a privately controlled U.S. code used to identify vessel operating common carriers (VOCC) in computer systems and shipping documents, such as freight bill, bill of lading, packing list, and purchase order. SCAC Code can be obtained from the NMFTA.

More about Standard Carrier Alpha Code

The National Motor Freight Traffic Association (NMFTA) developed the Standard Carrier Alpha Code in the 1960s for the purpose of computerizing information and records.  Automated Manifest System, used by US Customs and Border Protection (CBP), also uses SCAC to identify an ocean carrier or self-filing party for electronic import customs clearance. The SCAC code list could be found in the SCAC Code lookup website.

Procurement Sourcing and More

How MercuryGate uses SCAC:
The SCAC code is used throughout the MercuryGate TMS system, from procurement, to rating, to carrier management, and even to fleet. As the SCAC identifies the carrier it has unlimited uses within the MercuryGate TMS in support of each module. Within the procurement module, it identifies the carrier by SCAC that has submitted a response to the RFP for rates. Within the rating functionality, the TMS uses the SCAC to identify the proper carrier and rates to use. This is the same for the carrier management, with the additions that the SCAC is used for tendering to the proper carrier and also for validating that the carrier has the necessary credentials and is a valid carrier within outside systems that identify carriers with proper insurance, hours of operations, etc.

Request a MercuryGate Demo to Get Started